Step 3
Classifieds

Archives

<<   < *  Step 3   *  >   >>  

* I passed Step 3 by the power/grace of Jesus
  enkuang - 12/19/06 00:00

Dear Friends,

I took Step 3 on 11/2 and 11/3/06.

The reason for this posting is to encourage everyone who is preparing to take the USMLE Step 3. I am a PGY 2 resident doing internal medicine. Graduated from St George's Univ School of Medicine. I was really encouraged by many of your testimonies/posting here before my Step 3, that's why I want to do the same for others.

To tell you the truth, even 3 days before Step 3, I was struggling whether or not to postpone until Dec or Jan... I knew that with my own ability I couldn't pass it. My family and church friends kept on praying for me and encouraging me all along, and they also prayed very hard for me throughout 11/2~11/3. Thank Lord Jesus, I found out that I passed Step 3 on 12/4! I couldn't have done it without God's grace, power, and wisdom! Praise God!

My stats:
Q Bank overall average: 54% (did 924 questions)
USMLE World average: 51.6% (only did 192 qs because I ran out of time to study)
NBME Step 3 CD (from USMLE when you registered for the exam) 4 blocks: 67%, 69%, 70%, 79%

My Actual Score on Step 3: 197/ 80

What I did/ my Advice to everyone:
1. While working as a resident, I spent (slowly becuase of the demanding work load and constant lack of sleep...etc.) ~3-4 months of my time watching the Kaplan Videos and going over the Kaplan Step 3 Notes.

2. Going over Crush Step 3 and First Aid for Step 3*** very important!!! Make sure you go over these two books for HIGH YIELD facts/ QUICK review!!! Some people may need to go over twice, but I only had enough time to go over once.