Step 2 CS
Matching & Residency
Step 3
Classifieds

Archives

<<   < *  Matching & Residency   *  >   >>  

* Need advice..can I restart residency?
  thaaj - 08/07/17 00:49

Hi docs.. I need your advice and what would you do if you were me.. I have been very active in this forum and finished all my steps.
YOG- 2009
STEP 1-199
STEP 2 - 229
STEP 3- 199
CS- PASS first attempt.
Did lot of observerships as well as have 2-3 years of research experience. Through a contact, I got observership in a IM residency program and stayed there for one year with only one goal of getting into residency. I left my 9month old daughter in India during this time as I have no choice and my husband was working in a different place. Luckily I got accepted into the residency program where I was doing observership as one of the residents had to resign. I was a very good resident and everyone were impressed with my work. Slowly as I got busy with wards and ICU, I started to develop burn out and as well as missing my daughter. I was not conscious enough to deal with this early. I was suggested from my colleagues not to get my daughter as I wont be able to focus. With gratitude to the program I kept working even in this tough situation but it started to affect my work performace. My parents were not in a situation to come at that time and the stress in ICU started to hit me. Then I got worried that I may compromise patient care so I decided to take leave because I needed to plan about getting my daughter as well as her care. Unexpectedly my daughter was not coming to me and she did not recognise me as her mother which made me depressed and made me feel guillty that I was after only my career and it is important to balance family life. My program gave me a 12 week leave but that time was not enough for me for rebonding and I was worried that my daughter will not come to me if I start going for work and get busy. So I resigned as I needed some time to plan things and then come back again. My husband