Step 3
Classifieds

Archives

SOAP Begins in: 

<<   < *  Matching & Residency   *  >   >>  

* Very old graduate thinking of taking step 3
  zeek66 - 06/10/18 20:06

I need the forum's input and advice

I am an old graduate , 2000, and wrote my steps 1 and 2 ( both parts) but never matched (in 2008/2009). For family and financial reasons I needed to work asap so I transitioned into nursing and am now a practicing NP for last 3 years. Did 2 years in FNP and now joined an endocrinology group in a major health system for last one year. I am also a certified diabetic educator. Still dream of being an MD some day. I have not done step 3.
Since it is over 10 years from my step exams what is the rule about repeating and improving step performance...my scores were not that good. Realistically what are my chances ? Also am a US citizen.
This is my first time on this forum. Looking to make some good online study buddies maybe and for some good advice.
thanks in advice for your time!

Report Abuse

* Re:Very old graduate thinking of taking step 3
  zeek66 - 06/10/18 20:07

I mean, thanks in advance fr your time!

Report Abuse

parmesh495 - 06/14/18 12:57

As you are an ECFMG certified you cannot take the steps again and try to apply for Step-3 exam you may have chances. Also, along with the scores you need to gain continuous hands-on clinical experience which makes the application strong and provide strong LORs. Also try to get connections which can help during the match process.  
Report Abuse

aishakhan2697 - 06/16/18 21:05

@zeek66 im in same position as u, im 2010 grad, my scores are low, i applied last yr but got no interviews. Im looking into nursing, as i need to support my family financially. Do u think u can give me advice about nursing? In clueless, do i need to go to community college first and then go for nursing school? How many yrs it took u to get nursing degree? Did u do it from private institut? kindly if u have time plz email me at mi_usmle@yahoo.com