Matching & Residency
Step 3
Classifieds

Archives

SOAP Begins in: 

<<   < *  Matching & Residency   *  >   >>  

* Re:Wondering if I should apply for the coming matc
  natcruze - 08/07/18 21:30

I am a 2009 graduate ( India) scores 206/226/cs Second attempt/212. EAD holder. I did 1 year MD Microbiology in India but left halfway after marriage and to pursue usmle dreams.U.S experience volunteer research fellow for 2 years with 3 first author publications in a community hospital. Observership in ICU 3 months, LORS from US chiefs but old (2016). I have applied thrice to many programs (IM,peads,family medicine.)I have got only one interview in the program i worked as research fellow for two consecutive years but did not match. At present i have 2 kids,full time mom. I am really confused if I should apply for the coming match.(Husbands money).. Please give me honest advice.  
Report Abuse

* Re:Re:Wondering if I should apply for the coming m
  natcruze - 08/08/18 06:44

can someone please reply.  
Report Abuse

smartpc - 08/08/18 15:31

From a Coordinator - Your year of graduation will be 10 years for the 2019 Match, which is double the normal consideration limit. Your scores are also below the cutoff of most programs. You asked for an honest answer - Even with your research work, 10 years post graduation is too long out of clinical work. and observerships do not count for much from a program standpoint. You application will not be viewed by most programs, as filters are always used. It may sound harsh, but it's honest. Best of luck in whatever you pursue!  
Report Abuse

natcruze - 08/08/18 18:09