Step 3
Classifieds

Archives

<<   < *  Step 2 CS   *  >   >>  

* I passed CS!!!
  jenjendrjen - 02/06/19 23:15

I took my exam on Dec. 12th 2018 in LA.
My result came out on Jan 30th 2019.

I wanted to share how i passed CS on first attempt.

CS is a very do-able exam with consistent practice. No need to worry about this exam if you have prepared it enough. However, i think lots of practice is needed.

I studied for CS 2 months prior to my exam. I got a CS study group with studymates.
We practiced online and offline. I spend about 5-6 hours a day practicing with my partners.
I had about 4-5 partners. Every case I did, I did it timed and wrote PN on the standardized format.
At first I would run out of time taking history and writing notes, but as I practiced more and more
I could make it in time.

I went through FA 2 times. Then I did UW cases once.
And then I did random cases with my partners.
At the last 2 weeks of my prep, I started practicing 8-10 cases per day.
The last few days, I went through FA minicases. I don't know if this helped me alot, but it
helped me get a better idea what to have in my differentials and work up studies.

My results came out like this.

ICE: borderline to high performance
CIS: high performance
SEP: very high performance

The cases in my exam were mainly covered with FA and UW cases (except 2-3 cases)
The SPs were very unfriendly in my impression. (about half of them were friendly, and half were unfriendly.
and among the unfriendly SPs, about 2-3 were extremely unfriendly.. like their facial expressions were telling me 'I don't want to answer your questions..' and answering in very short sentences. However, I tried to calm down and ask if anything was making them uncomfortable. and try to calm them down if they felt any anxiety.

The things that I would like to do differently if I took it again.
1. I would practice with my study partners with more unfriendly enviroment. (where the SPs don't answer your questions as nicely)