Step 3
Classifieds

Archives

SOAP Begins in: 

<<   < *  Matching & Residency   *  >   >>  

* Should I give up?
  xyzabcanon - 03/14/19 13:05

Dear doctors,

I want to know if I should give up now? I have been applying since last 7 years in FM and psych, My credentials are:

YOG: 2009, US citizen IMG
step 1: 20x (1st attempt)
step 2: 20x (1st attempt)
CS: passed on 1st attempt
step 3: 19x (2nd attempt)
Got USCE and good LOR's from US physicians by volunteering, externships, research in clinics and medical centers. Have 5+ publications and posters.
2017- did MS degree from Yale and got LOR from chairman for eras. Only got 1 interview.
Every year I apply, I only get 1-2 interviews only but fail to match. This year I got 0 interviews.
Currently working in research setting.

Is it time to give up?

Report Abuse

* Re:Should I give up?
  xyzabcanon - 03/26/19 14:36

900+ views and not even 1 reply. anyone?  
Report Abuse

night - 03/27/19 00:20

Sorry bud ... you seem to be doing ALL the right things but have not had any luck. Do not give up your dreams but have a viable plan B. I am guessing you are a citizen/green card? Things will work out.  
Report Abuse

xyzabcanon - 03/27/19 10:59

Yes, I’m a US citizen IMG  
Report Abuse

lovelybellen - 03/27/19 19:04

Dear xyzabcanon,

I agree that YOG will pose difficulty. Your best bet is to find programs that can observe at and show that your medical knowledge is uptodate. You will have to work smart, and find attendings that you believe will give you the best possible LORs and support you. The best attending is one that knows someone who can advocate for you prior to interview season. You will need to figure out early on who seems to be helpful, but also at the same time not be discouraged if you encounter the cold shoulder from people.