Step 3
Classifieds

Archives

SOAP Begins in: 

<<   < *  Matching & Residency   *  >   >>  

* Applying by October to Dece because of CK exam
  study098 - 08/26/19 16:55

Anyone else applying late ?

I am still studying for CK, but I really need to apply this year because I am struggling financially and just so embarrassed of myself that I have now isolated myself from the world. I don't want to answer others about what I have been doing with my life, why I took so long to finish med school, and why I'm still single. I have been taking care of my single diabetic mother and working this whole time. I stopped working because I never had enough time to study for my boards let alone do anything else in life. I am dependent on others for everything now and life is just miserable. I have no self-esteem left. I need to get out of this situation soon because I can't take being financially depend on others any more and being embarrassed to buy anything for myself. I have few questions if anyone can help answer them I would be grateful.

Is it possible to match with 2 connections?

My stats:
Step 1 score 203, CS 2nd attempt, all rotations in US, LORS (1FM, 1 Peds, 1 OB)
Can I use all of these for FM and Peds?
Also, 2 IM lors.
1 publication
US citizen

I graduate in 2020 from Caribbean school after 10 years (started in 2010) due to distractions, working, and financial issues.
By October - December hopefully I have CK done and then soon I will take Step 3.

I want to apply to FM, IM, and Peds. I prefer IM more than others.

Is it possible for me to match into IM?
How likely am I to match late?

Report Abuse

* Re:Applying by October to Dece because of CK exam
  luckylady - 08/27/19 17:38

I am no expert, but here is my 2 cents:

1. As long as you are graduating in 2020, then you are a new grad. You have the advantage of YOG being recent.
2. All your rotations were in the US, another huge advantage.
3. You are a US citizen, another major advantage.