Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Feelings post Step 1 and Worst mistake ever! - medgirl5
Hi y'all,

ahh so where do i start....I just took Step 1 yesterday and honestly i have no idea how i feel.
My emotions and thoughts are running wild.

Immediately following the exam I was just happy it was over. I honestly couldn't remember 80% of the questions. I think my brain was just on over-drive/complete focus during the exam that I didn't have the mental capacity to "remember" questions as I was answering them. It was literally just like "Click and Go" mode. Unfortunately though, the questions which i felt was difficult i DO remember because I spent a significant amount of time pondering over them.

Its these questions that make me feel like I bombed the exam.... I also ran out of time for 1 questions on my 4th block (the very last questions). It was something stupid about Giradia and honestly, i studied micro so well that I was shocked to see such a random/integrated question about this bug. I remember seeing it was the last question of the block and i looked at my time..."Okay I have 1minute and 14seconds to really think about this questions, there HAS to be a clue that i'm missing in the question stem"...this was my thought process, and I was re-reading the questions slowly..i literally BLINKED once and Oh My God the blocked time expired!!!! i totally missed answering that question! This was by-far the STUPIDEST mistake Anyone could ever make. I should have At least chosen a random answer and then, re-read it (at least then I wouldn't have left it blank). After this block , i needed a mental break to recuperate myself. I took a 20mins lunch break.

I came back from Lunch with a new mind set which was to not let that 1 missed question affect the rest of my performance. and I was able to manage my time a lot more efficiently. BUT coming back to my original post, I honestly Cannot remember like 80% of the exam.