Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
img pathology applicants - pathdoc
I'm currently a path resident, and I'm just wondering what the situation is these days for foreign grads applying to path programs. From what I hear, the competitiveness is increasing year after year. Not surprisingly though. If people knew more about path, it would be one of the most competitive specialties of all. Anyway, good luck, and let me know if I can help with anything.
As you are into residency; you muat b eknowing future prospects in this field. How i sfuture for pathoologist? It is necessary to do some fellowship? Howz job market?

How do you find this from? (As you are on the other side). Thanks.
Hi Pathdoc
thanks for offering. (I think you were in last year's path thread)
we need your help. Let us know if you could share some info about the Path programs in the northeast. I have a call from Baystate/Tufts. Could you tell me about this program?
Also as a resident, could you tell us what PDs are looking for in a candidate?
Hi Pathdoc,

Thanks for your offer. I am also interested in Pathology. I have same Qs that usamle has asked. Though it is very competative, nobody exactly knows about future prospects after residency!
Anyway thanks again.
mlegirl
to amygdala: I've been to Baystate/Tusts, Springfield MA. The program is Ok, actually much better than Tufts Univ. in Boston. However, Springfield MA is a hellish place. The closest airport is around 50 miles away; I rented a car from Albany, NY.
On my interview day they called 4 applicants. The program is 50/50=AMGs/IMGs. 5 or 6 interviewees, all of them very friendly. No clinical/pathology questions at all, just common stuff like why pathology, why MA. I remember they very proud about the amount of bone tumors. Basically, that™s it. The Hilton which they pay for has a free shuttle to the hospital, but not back, at least it wasn™t available on my interview day.. Lunch with residents in a cafeteria, and nothing unusual.
GL