Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
IMG from Russia -
GurMin - gurmin98

Is anybody, who graduated med.school in Russia and got good score for Step 1?
ashish

i will be appearing for the step 1 what about u ? where are you from when will u be appearing ??
GurMin

I'm from Makhachkala ( the Caspian Sea shore), I just started to prepare for USMLE step 1. So how I understand, u graduated in Russia? If yes, what school?
Natasha - nberdnyk

Hello!
yes, I'm a graduate from the Ukraine. please, sent me an e-mail, I just started, so, may be we can stay in touch, and help each other?
Natasha
JuliaMI

I am from Saint-Petersburg, graduated 1997 Pediatric Academy. Passed Step 1 241/97 one month ago.
GurMin - gurmin98

Hi Julia!!
Congrats!!!!! That is very good score. You inspired me!!!! Smile
Could you please, to responde to my e-mail, what material you used, how long you was prepairing?
JuliaMI

Why "for your eyes only"? Let other folks use this info!

I did not read in English before emigration, so I prepared more than one year (by myself only).
Books: of course, First Aid
Path, Behavioral (not High Yield!!), Physiology - Board Review Series.
Gross anat, Embrio, Neuro, Histo, Molecular Biology - High Yield Editions
Micro - Levinson (Appl/Lange)
Pharmacology and Biochem - LWW (+Pharm - Appleton/Lang - Tresor's book is very difficult but with 1000 great questions)
Pretests: Biochem+genetics (after this do not have any trouble about genetics), Clin Vingettes, Path, Gross Anat, Micro, Neuro. Others
are worse.
Look in First Aid and do everything about Questions which has mark A or B+ You need to do about 2000 questions per subject. I did 300 every day during two months before exam.
Have atlases: Gross anat, histology normal and path, Radiology (study MRI!!). And an "encyclopedia" - Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the book which is very useful.