Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Interviewing Correctly by Trishul Reddy - trishulreddy
Before I got into a Neurosurgery program, I have been applying for a residency for the past 4 years without any luck. After 4 years of Interviews, 4 years of disappointment and 1000's of rejection letters. It finally dawned on me, I finally understood what it took to impress program directors and residents in such a way that they will want to call you back for a second interview or a pre-match. The answer is a "no brainer" to most of you, but it wasn't for me.

I had tried every trick in the book to do well in the interviews, I read books, watched interview videos, learned different body languages to express confidence etc.

None of them worked. Why not? Are the authors of these books I read wrong? The answer is neither Yes nor No.

The information they provide you well, will work in an interview only if you are true to yourself and your experiences.

What am I saying with that statement?

I will give you an example. In the last 10 years, I have faced many challenges, financially, emotionally and physically. Instead of being proud of my life experiences, I shunned them away, thinking its a shame to have such negative experiences. I was embarrassed with some of life's experiences.

So in interviews when they asked tell them a little about myself, I just told them all the good things that happend in my life, ignoring the bad.

Well this year, I tried something different, I was myself, comfortable in my own skin. When they asked me to tell about myself? I told the truth, I said all the good things and bad things in a summarized form and how I overcame those challenges with good positive attitude, determination and focus. I told them that these are the attributes I will be bringing to their residency program. From that very moment my interviews changed.