Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Just a random q on my mind ... :) - determined.
Just a random q on my mind since I have no outside world contact with friends besides this platform. lol...

If you ever go to Clinic/hospital for a checkup, do you tell them you're a medical student?

I personally don't like to tell them any more since I feel it interferes with treatment. The doctors might instead start asking me question to check how smart I am or how much I know while I'm still learning. This actually happened as the doctor started asking me about thyroid levels and thank God I knew the answers. lol... But still I felt bad that they were focusing more on checking my knowledge level than about my health.

But if I don't tell them and they later find out..then who cares... right? umm... they might consider me a liar then.. lol..

What do you guys say?

Other thing, at this point, I don't consider myself a doctor. I tell people around me that I will be a doctor when I finish my residency. So, don't call me a doctor. I feel bad. I'm not one yet, just a student who has a lot to learn. lol...
haha - I feel you.
Personally even I don't like going around telling people that am "a Doc" - yeah I guess it's the shear honesty about my capability or the lack of it or the fact we personally don't feel as qualified - especially these days . But God! Do my parents pressurize me to? ALL THE TIME! Whenever I take them to a Doc or for check up they want me to introduce myself as doctor so and so - they feel that it kinda "changes" the whole perspective - or least hurry us up inside the doctor's room.