Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
OBGYN competition !! - basma11511
please i want to know how competitive is OBGYN for IMGs?? i have to apply for it and prepare my cv for this aim or it's very competitive?? I'm still a beginner ..any advise appreciated .thanks
Obgyn is one of the most competitive specialties, especially for non-US IMGs. Last year match, only 5% of ~1230 positions matched by non-US IMGs. US IMGs have a only a slightly better chance.
It all winds down to your scores/graduation year/US clinical experience/research experience/dedication to the specialty, and if you worked/know people with contacts to program directors or residents who can advocate for you at times of interviews and rank.
With that said, with some hard work, focus and planning it is doable. I know someone with 10 yr graduation and average scores, who worked hard on research/publications and made contacts who match a university program.
thank u, i love OBGYN but as u said I'm 10 years graduate !! so i don't know if i have to look for us experience and research related to OBGYN or it's just a waste of time??!! and i have to look for back up speciality ..thank u anyway and good luck
Basma, you seems sister in Islam. That's why iam cutting the strugle short for you and give you my own advise. I have been struggling since 2011 showing up in program volunteering in research, have three publication. Still could not find my place. And no hopes either and no one in that program is welling to recommend me to any one else. I have master degree in Obgyn from my home country and 4 hrs ObGyn residnecy I am graduate 2005, residency 2006-2010. Come to state 2010, did Ecfmg in 2011. volunteer from 2011 to 2014. No single interview.

Cut it short go Family medicine enjoy your life. I am diagnosed major depression now, around to shot my head by gon, to save myself pain of failure.
@sudha2013