Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
To Old Graduates: Don't Loss Hope - oakramble

I am an old graduate, 2001. I matched at the first attempt to categorical internal medicine to my first choice, which was a university program.

I’d like to highlight some of my experience, hopefully to help other “old” and “not so old” applicants for future match(es).

My scores were about average but recent, i.e. closer to application time; low 240s step 1, low 230s step 2 CK and CS passed, all at first attempt. Did only minor USCE for about 2 months in a local clinic where I got a good LOR. I did not need a visa. Prior to coming to US, I was in a residency in home-country other than IM, that I left before completion.

I believe the biggest pump to my application was the research I did after getting MPH, were I worked 5 years in clinical research and had 7 publications. I also got strong LORs (assuming strong because I waived my right to see them) from influential American physicians. It took me that many years because I was the main provider to my family and kids, supporting my spouse getting into dream residency, which was achieved.

I applied to 200 programs in all states except California because I didn’t have the letter, and PR because I don’t speak Spanish. The application cost was little above $5000.
I received 11 interviews in IM from mid to low-level programs; 3 university programs and 8 community hospitals. I ended up attending 10 interviews, the cost of which was about $3500.