Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Took the exam...felt like i failed. Super anxious. - med321
Hello everyone

I am a PGY-2 IM. Took step 3 last week both days back to back. I studied for 2 months. With the 2nd month serious studying. Used the basics MTB and Uworld. I got 210 on UWSA-2 which was 3 weeks out and 213 on UWSA-1 about 1 week out.

I am a slow reader and thinker. I have always ran out of time on exam, esp the USMLEs, but I feel like I lacked time on this one the most. Maybe I was over thinking the questions.

The exam
1st day- 6 blocks. Ran out of time on ALL the blocks. Had like 2 minutes left for the last 4-5 questions in each block, and randomly just marked the answers for the last 5 questions. I also skipped most of the biostats and ALL of the drug ads (again marked random answers).

Day 2: 6 blocks, same story again. 5 questions left with 1-2 minutes remaining. Again randomly clicked answers on last 5 questions.

CCS:
Made a few mistakes here and there and completely gave the wrong treatment on one of the cases (wrong abx).

Now, I am having mad anxiety everyday because ofcourse I think I failed. I didn't expect to feel good after the exam, matter of fact, I knew I would feel like crap. I was prepared for that. I just feel like I failed because I made the usual dumb mistakes on top of running out of time on all 12 blocks. I was wondering if anyone has any feedback or a similar experience and passed? I have already started studying for the exam again but I have 3 weeks of ICU coming up and I need to know if I should ask for a schedule change inorder to prepare again/ review stuff.
Btw, have been an average student in medschool, with below average to average scores on the USMLEs so far.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Hope you will pass and put all this stress behind!