Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I passed- second attempt. STEP 3:My experience - usmloma
This is my second attempt.
First attempt I got 190.
Second attempt I passed. THE SECRET IS CCS.

I studied UW+ MTB+ CCS mapping+UW CCS+ Archer videos. over 4 months, i work from 7-5 and some weekends and calls.

MTB x2: useless but it helps you to gauge your study plan.
UW twice, first time over 3 months 61% and second time over 1 month was 73%.
I reviewed all questions. I reviewed wrong answers and searched for answers in this forum.
I did UW CK for peds and OBGyn- important for those who took CK long time ago.
I also read some pages from kaplan CK for things that I do not know.

day 1: I was very short in time and was unable to catch up 2-4 questions each block.
day 2: was easy and I felt horrible wasting some questions due to time.

CCS:
was unusual scenarios but easy and not complicated.you need to be wise and choose not to order everything at once. for example: if you have a 10 minutes case, you have no time to order everything you want but only relevant and focused work up.
CCS mapping is helpful in cases outside of UW
UW CCS is a must. you should do it twice.
Archer videos are annoying to watch but very helpful especially first video.

Real exam is details-oriented type, example: let's say you got a question in UW about 15 yo F who lives alone and asking about abortion or vaccine or even emergent surgery for a young boy who comes with his aunt or grandmother. READ about consent(I got at least 10 questions with different scenarios). OR another example, Drug A works on receptor X let's say Throboxan. it will be easy to know it is Thromboxan but in the options it will ask you on it works on thromboxan doing what? so just once you study relax and bring your brain with you and pay attention to details.

- I took UW assessment 3 wks before test i got 183- horrible!!! I know, but I thought I should go for it
Real exam was >20 points above.

IN MY Opinion: