Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
IMG Failed Step 3 more than once? What is next? - smile14
IMG Failed Step 3 more than once? What is next?
I am an orthopedic practicing consultant. I have failed my step 3 exam 3 times. I tried all the available courses in the market. No luck yet.

I am writing this to share my experience with you guys in order to help those who are going through the same dilema. Initially, the step 3 exam is not easy as we all were told. It needs preparation and practice within a planed schedule and time frame. My first attempt was 2015, have attended Kaplan live for 8 days and solved part of their question bank and Uworld after that. I remember reading most of Kaplan notes, Master the board and solved Uworld Q bank and CCS cases. No NBME was attempted that time. MY score was 187. Paasing score 196

I decided to prepare again and set for the exam since I am almost there and would pass EASILY. My thinking was to do some quick review and Q bank again and set for the exam. It took me 3 weeks to finish them. I decided to set for the NBME assessment test and my score was just a joke below 200. I decided to do little more serious preparation and have read on USMLE forum about the Brochert's Crush Step 3: The Ultimate USMLE Step 3 Review. It was not easy to read neither to understand, however, I completed the book and went through Uworld Qbank again.

Surprise!! Failed again.

Orthopedic surgeons known to be hard headed, you shoould belive it. I decided to do more preparation this time and set for the exam. I bought First Aid step 3 and spent 4 months reading and trying to memorise it. I have had no enough time to know this bok ins/out. It was not easy for a full time orthopedic consultant working in 2 hospitals to finish it and could not understand all non ortho topics. Why would I care about detailed stroy of baby in his mom's uterus making noise before been deliverd. I could not put the material together after completing the First aid book.