Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Chances of matching-YOG in 2000, Mph and PhD in US - medphed
I graduated in 2000. Passed step1 with 235, but got less score in step2 (just passed) in 2003. I Did Mph and PhD (with good GPA)
from US universities and worked as a researcher in a highly reputated hospital in USA for 6 years. I have many publications including in nature. I am planning to take step3 this year. I wonder if there is a chance to match if I score high in step3 (aiming for 240-250). Any advise is highly appreciated. I am an IMG and require visa sponsorship. Thank you in advance.
This seems great credentials. Definitely step 3 is a must since they may look at you as an outdated clinician, given that you are an old graduate and passed step 2 more than 17 years ago !!.

Academic programs may appreciate your PhD more, you should email the PD of the programs of your interest after applying and highlight that you have MPH and PhD, and that you have recently passed step 3.
In many instances the applications get filtered out by a coordinator who would primarily look at your year of grad and your scores, that is why emailing programs would be encouraged in your case "email the PD not the coordinator"
Dear MdPhD - I guess we both are in a similar boat.
As braveheart_2020 says, I guess we need to email the PDs and tell them that we have done our PhDs.
I am trying to apply to ptograms which offer "Research track"

Dear braveheart_2020 - how do we send emails to the PDs? Can I find it on the ERAS-webpages?
Par469
The PD email might be available on the ERAS program page.
Many programs have the PD emails, or coordinator emails or some generic email like IMresidency@...edu